Letter to parents about Australian Government


G.R: Hi mum and dad,

Here is what I know about government. Australia’s system of government is democracy, where everyone gets to vote. England’s Queen also has power over us, so we are a bit of monarchy as well. Decisions are made in Parliament house. There are two sections in parliament house: Senate and representative. Laws and decisions have to go through both houses before they are made. There are three types of government: Federal, state and local.

Here is what I want to know about government: Why are there two houses in parliament? What is the difference between them? Is there only one party that is in the government or more? Is there an election in every state? I don’t really get those last two questions, because there is only one election on TV, but Ant said that there is a party representing every state.

If you could help me with that, that would be great.